Skip to content

Is it enough

June 2, 2006

I have recently been struck with the incredibly obvious: I am clueless. I have found myself in battles, both spiritual and physical, that are whooping up on me. There have been days when I sit to pray, and end up staring into space contemplating the vastness of my cluelessness.

If only I knew what tomorrow held. If only I knew who was calling my phone. If only I knew who was knocking on my door. If only I knew what consequences today’s hard obedience would bring. But, quite frankly, I have no clue. I have found it quite amazing, in 2 Chronicles 20, that Jehoshaphat was in a similar situation (if you can look at my situation and say that I am surrounded by the Moabites and Ammonites, and their looking to kick my butt). Surrounded by enemies, he wondered aloud in prayer.

12 … We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you. (ESV)

I just don’t know anymore. I thought I knew, but now I don’t. I thought I was doing what was right, and now…now I have no clue. The awesome part is where he looked for his help…his eyes rested on God. He knew the answer was there. And God responds through a prophet with a powerful promise:

15 He said, “Listen, King Jehoshaphat! Listen, all you people of Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the LORD says: Do not be afraid! Don’t be discouraged by this mighty army, for the battle is not yours, but God’s… 17 But you will not even need to fight. Take your positions; then stand still and watch the LORD’s victory. He is with you, O people of Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid or discouraged. Go out there tomorrow, for the LORD is with you!” (NLT)

This isn’t your battle…you aren’t the general in charge. You are just a private, or not a military man at all. You just do what I tell you, and let me take care of it. They aren’t attacking you, they are attacking Me. I got it covered. In previous years I would stop right there. How awesome to know that God is in charge, and we aren’t. That God has our backs. That God will take care of His own in His time in His way. That God is with us. But, today I find encouragement just a little further down in the story.

18 Then Jehoshaphat bowed his head with his face to the ground, and all Judah and the inhabitants of Jerusalem fell down before the LORD, worshiping the LORD. 19 And the Levites, of the Kohathites and the Korahites, stood up to praise the LORD, the God of Israel, with a very loud voice. (ESV)

Before God actually delivered them, before the battle was over, before the battle had even begun, the people worshipped God. Why? For being who He is, even in the midst of struggle. He is in charge, and His presence is with us. I may have no clue about tomorrow, the rest of today, next week, this phone call on my cell phone right now. But I do know who my God is, and how He loves me and promises to take care of me, be with me, win the battle.

Is that enough?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

