Skip to content

Would You Just Ask?!?!

July 12, 2006


Men and directions – it’s the proverbial oil and water mixture we hear about in many jokes, and now see in a popular car commercial (where the dad refuses to use the GPS system that came with his new SUV). For some unknown reason, most men would rather try to figure out the terrain than stop and ask someone for directions. This will normally lead to the emotional outburst of, “Would you just ask?!?!”

Is it pride? Is it the tradition of manliness? Is it an extremely low i.q.? Quite frankly, I believe the answer is yes to all…Too often in my own life I get going, and forget to stop and ask for directions. After all, the car is still moving, so that must mean that I am going the right way, right? Ok, I’ll admit, I am a bit off course, but why stop now? If I just go a little further, I’m sure it will start looking familiar. I don’t need help, directions, because I know what I am doing!

Humility. A willingness to simply ask. Like David. Notice how many times he “inquired of the Lord.”

1 Samuel 23:2-5 Therefore David inquired of the LORD, “Shall I go and attack these Philistines?” And the LORD said to David, “Go and attack the Philistines and save Keilah.” 3 But David’s men said to him, “Behold, we are afraid here in Judah; how much more then if we go to Keilah against the armies of the Philistines?4 Then David inquired of the Lord again. And the Lord answered him, Arise, go down to Keilah, for I will give the Philistines into your hand. 5 And David and his men went to Keilah and fought with the Philistines and brought away their livestock and struck them with a great blow. So David saved the inhabitants of Keilah.1 Samuel 30.8 And David inquired of the Lord, Shall I pursue after this band? Shall I overtake them?He answered him, Pursue, for you shall surely overtake and shall surely rescue.

2 Samuel 5.19 And David inquired of the Lord, Shall I go up against the Philistines? Will you give them into my hand? And the Lord said to David, Go up, for I will certainly give the Philistines into your hand.

2 Samuel 5.23 And when David inquired of the Lord, he said, You shall not go up; go around to their rear, and come against them opposite the balsam trees.

“Hang on a second! Let me ask!” That’s the attitude of David, and andesperatelyI desperatly need. I tend to get rolling along, pretending like I know exactly where I am going, somehow blinding myself to the fact that I’m a moron, and I really don’t know where I am going.Why don’t I ask the One who does?!?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

