Skip to content

It’s right in front of us

October 26, 2006

How oblivious can we be? Quite frankly, that’s a pretty dangerous question. Just when we think we have it all figured out, we get smacked inteh face with another reality, a reality that we should already know, a reality that has already become real to us…or at least it should have.

For me, it happens with Scripture regularly. I have spent since the Fall of 1992 studying for the ministry or being in the ministry, so you would think I would stop being surprised by what I see. After all, I’ve touched every page of my Bible a few times by now, right?

It happened again, this time in an old favorite passage, a passage that as Bible students you are made aware of over and over and over. A passage that promises God’s touch on the Bible that sits in our laps. A passage that we cling to.

And yet, something new.

2 Timothy 3:10 – 17 You, however, have followed my teaching, my conduct, my aim in life, my faith, my patience, my love, my steadfastness, my persecutions and sufferings that happened to me at Antioch, at Iconium, and at Lystra- which persecutions I endured; yet from them all the Lord rescued me. Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil people and impostors will go on from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.

Why is Paul telling Timothy that the Bible is inspired, that it is breathed out by God? Who cares that it is profitable for teaching, reproof, correction, training?

The man that is in the midst of persecution. The man that is trying to cling to what is right, to make God happy, to bring a smile to his face. Who cares? That man who is at the end of his rope, ready to let go, when he reads, “I will never leave you nor forsake you (Hebrews 13.5).”

The man who thinks he is about to fall down the last stair, after he just picked himself up when he reads, “Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholdeth him with his hand (Psalm 37:24).”

The man who doesn’t have the will to stand against any more bad-mouthing, good for nothing, disrespectful rumor-mongers, when he reads, “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you (Matthew 5:44).”

Me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

