Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 14, 2007

As I sit in the shore house, with everyone else in bed (shocking that I am the only one up!!), I’m trying to wrap my head around some things. Mainly, what I did to deserve good kids.From Luke telling Papa how great a dad I am, to Audrey thinking I am big enough to lift her to the sky so she can touch the clouds, to Jordan saying the only thing he wanted this morning was to spend time with me, to Amber telling me yesterday I am the greatest dad (mostly because I just bought her the biggest, ugliest, dangliest earrings ever seen by man’s eyes), I am distraught by it all.

On one hand I want my kids to love me, to idolize me, to follow after me, but quite frankly, the other hand is rather strong…it’s ME they are loving, idolizing and following…that scares the crap out of me.

I want to love my kids the way I should, to provide for them, to teach them. I want them to pass by me, and not get stuck trying to follow me. I want them see God in the right way… and to think I can screw this all up…

And yet, somehow, I haven’t. I have Jordan, who wins a Christian character award; Amber, who is figuring bigger and bigger things out as she reads her Bible; Luke, who loves to pray, because he knows who he is talking to, and Audrey, who loves playing with me…no matter how crabby she is.

Reading 2 John 6 this morning,

And this is love, that we walk according to his commandments; this is the commandment, just as you have heard from the beginning, so that you should walk in it.

So, the honest truth is, as I love my God, as I learn to love Him more, I am loving my kids. That’s what has made my parenting so “successful”… or who.

Cause it sure ain’t me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

