Skip to content

Bible Study Follow up

August 19, 2008

So, since I got homework from last night… thought I would post what I found here…

The verse we were looking at was Psalm 51.12… here are a few different versions and how they translate it:

ESV – Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.

KJV – Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.

NASB – Restore to me the joy of Thy salvation, And sustain me with a willing spirit.

NLT – Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and make me willing to obey you.

That clears it right up, doesn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to tell you… the more I read on this, the more I realize we;ll never get a 100% answer on it. Here’s my take… it can mean one of 2 things… both are acceptable. First, it can mean, Lord, I need to be totally re-created on the inside. Please do that, and hold me up through the process with Your Spirit, Your presence. Second, it can mean, Lord, I need to be totally re-created on the inside. Please do that, and make sure part of the re-creation is a spirit and an attitude that will allow me to choose You over myself on a daily basis.

For me, when it comes to the language, I would go with the second, but can’t be dogmatic about it…

Well, that was fun, wasn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

