Skip to content

“God Bless America”

September 30, 2008

Well, I finally had the opportunity to read through the article left in my box. To be honest, I am a bit confused. Again, it’s an article I don’t necessarily disagree with, but have some problems with its focus. Click in the parentheses for the article (god-bless-america). I am hoping I didn’t violate any copyright laws along the way. If I did, let me know, and I’ll try to undo the damage.

Let me begin by admitting I thought I was about to read an article talking about how wonderful America is, and how grateful we should be to live, work and worship here. What I found was partly that, but mostly, well, confusing. I guess if I had to concisely paraphrase the article, it would be, America is not perfect, but it’s where we enjoy our freedoms, freedoms that many others long for, and we must be willing to war for those freedoms, to ensure the survival of such freedom.

First, I love our freedoms. I enjoy them, use them, relish them, and don’t take them for granted, especially after seeing the lack of freedom in a place like China. However, I would argue with anyone who says that as believers, we must fight for those freedoms to ensure Christianity can continue. Here is why…the lack of freedom in a place like China has not dampened the spread, growth or health of Christianity. Believers are to put one thing above all else; loving their God with all their heart, soul and mind. That can happen in China, Sudan, Darfur, or the United States, and one doesn’t need to love Him in a free nation. Would I want to change America so it wasn’t free? Nope. Not a chance. I enjoy safety. I enjoy the fact, as the author stated, that I “can walk in tranquility to [my] chosen house of worship…without fear of bombs, clubs, or political-religious enforcers.”

I think this article has very little, if anything at all, to do with my walk with Christ as an American. It has to do with my survival as a Free American. Again, I enjoy that freedom, thank God for that freedom, and will do what is in my power to continue to enjoy that freedom. But I will not equate that freedom with my walk with Christ.

I owe my forefathers much for their selfless sacrifice on the battlefields of America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. Their sacrifice has allowed my family and I to live a free life. I will honor them every time I get a chance, whether that be Memorial Day, 4th of July, or just being reminded by something I see or someone I meet, because they deserve the honor.

I owe my God much more for the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus Christ, for my sins. I will honor and remember Him every time I get a chance, because He deserves that honor.

If you have another take on this article, or I missed an obvious area I should deal with, drop me a comment, and I’ll jump on it…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

