Skip to content

Be Political!

November 5, 2008

I love putting myself in stories. I love trying to feel the feelings that characters felt as their story unraveled.

I love thinking about Abraham, walking up the mountain, listening to his son whistling a favorite tune, and trying to figure out what was in his mind.

I love thinking about the prodigal son walking back to the house, it just coming into view. What was his stomach feeling like? What kind of lump showed up in his throat as he saw his dad running towards him?

I like picturing what it was like to see Christ in the Upper Room after the resurrection.

I can imagine the heartache’s, the nerves, the frustration, the excitement mixed with disbelief. And I can feel all of it!

I have one more for you… it’s just not a Bible one. What do you think it feels like for Barak Obama to wake up and realize he won?

Personally, I think he has to be feeling the excitement of being picked, mixed with the fear that he might fail. I imagine him worrying about what his first step is. Think about that for a moment. Where do you even begin? Economy? Iraq? Afghanistan? Fox News?

He must feel overwhelmed.

The question is, what are you going to do about it? Are you going to gloat when he makes his first mis-step? Are you going to whine as the stock market continues to fall? Are you going to wag your head when you hear about a foolish decision President Obama is making? Are you going to call one of the nuts on conservative talk and share stories about going underground?

Or, are you going to pray for him? Are you going to seek to feel his frustration and anxiety, and commit to spend serious amounts of time in prayer for him, not against him, but for him?

I don’t agree with him on many things. To be honest with you, when Paul wrote 1 Timothy, I don’t think he agreed with much of what “President Nero” was doing either. But it didn’t stop him from urging us to action.

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. – 1 Timothy 2.1, 2

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

