Skip to content

That’s Amore!

January 22, 2009

One of my favorite moments in marriage is when I catch my wife looking at me, and when I smile uncomfortably (yup, after almost 14 years, still feel weird, or bubbly for you ladies, when she stares at me!) and say what, she says, “I love you.” {5 points for the Bubbly reference!!!}

One of my favorite moments as a dad is when one of the 4 amigos come running up to me and out of nowhere says, “I love you daddy!”

It’s amazing to me when both of those things happen because I did nothing to deserve it. In fact, because of that horrible person that I am, I often give them plenty of reasons to not say it. But despite who I am, that’s how they genuinely feel, and they mean it when they say it.

I was reading Psalm 18 the other day, and the way it started made me stop. I was overwhelmed with the beauty of the first verse. I was awestruck with how poetic it was. I was blown away that I had never noticed it before. This is what David says,

I love you, O LORD, my strength.

That’s it. Nothing else. Sweet simplicity.

I’d love to compare it to my little story above, but instead, I can only contrast it – David had a ton of reasons, most of which were fresh in his mind, to proclaim his love. God had never given him a reason to not love Him. In fact, David records some of them in the first 18 verses of the Psalm.

Here’s my challenge for you this week. Write your own Psalm. Start it with “I love you, O Lord, my strength,” and fill in the reasons afterwards. Keep it simple. Then read it to yourself. Be amazed by it. If you want to post it here, by all means, throw it in the comments below. If you want to do it anonymously, email it to me, and I’ll be happy to post it with no name for you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

