Skip to content

What next??

January 29, 2009

Ever thought that? Ever hung up the phone, put your hands to your head, and asked, “What was that for? Why are you doing this to me?” Ever closed the door to your room, sat on the floor, and stared into space for a few minutes, wondering, “Lord, what next?”

First, an admonition for you. Never, ever, ever ask the Lord “What next?” I’m not superstitious (salt over the shoulder), I’m a realist. You will get the answer to that question whether or not you ask it, and if you ask it, you may end up blaming God, instead of embracing Him at the time you need a Heavenly Father hug the most.

Second, a reminder for you. The God who sees all, knows all, is sovereign over all is the God who raises the dead. That’s some God.

Third, let’s combine both “first” and “second” this way. When next comes, the God who raises the dead is the God we should be running to and embracing. You know why? Because He is the One there when all this is happening, and none if it is happening without a reason. He is the One who has a purpose and a plan to all the craziness. That purpose and plan is something amazing, and I found it in 2 Corinthians 1.9. (Ok, I can’t really take the credit. I’m sure someone else found it first, but it’s mine today!!)

Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead.

Paul says exactly what I need to hear. The difficult times are so that I can stop thinking I’m something, ’cause I’m not. They are to cause me to run to the only thing, the only One I have left. The God who raises the dead.

I’ll race you there…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

