Skip to content

Trusting in God

February 3, 2009

I have occasionally thrown guest post into the mix, for a number of reasons. Some times I am captivated by how someone says something, other times I’m just too lost and tired to put another post up! Today is the former, I promise! (That being said, if you have anything you have written and want to throw it my way, please do! I’ll put it in my pile of posts to possibly add (or in Calvary language, POPTPA…why do we do that for everything here??), and it might make the blog…. Sorry, I keep all income that may come as a result of your post… but on the flip side, I’ll take all the heat it may cause too! J

Thanks, Diana, for the post… I needed the reminder, especially today!

I just started reading Isaiah in my morning devotions and came across a verse today that really stood out to me, so I thought I’d share. I’m in chapter 2, which depicts the magnificence of God and what peoples’ reactions will be at his coming. It kind of puts into perspective how powerful and majestic God is. From verses 6-21 we get this crescendo (so-to-speak) of people hiding, bowing down, throwing their idols down, being humbled, etc… at Christ’s return. And then right at the climax, the story ends with one small yet very powerful verse. Isaiah 2:22

(ESV) Stop regarding man in whose nostrils is breath, for of what account is he?

(NIV) Stop trusting in man, who has but a breath in his nostrils, of what account is he?

(NASB) Stop regarding man, whose breath of life is in his nostrils; for why should he be esteemed?

After reading about how powerful God is, why would I want to put my trust in men!? Too often we put our trust in people who God created rather than trusting the One who gave us breath! Think about that! We serve such an amazing God! It humbles me to think about how often I forget that (especially when I need to trust Him in unsettling situations in life). We really have nothing to worry about, if our trust is in the right place!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

