Skip to content

Lessons from… a ride on an airplane

September 4, 2009

Found myself on an airplane, listening to the giggling, laughing and guffawing of a small child as we flew. I was thinking how fortunate mom and dad were to have such a joyful toddler on an airplane (and how fortunate I was to have been blessed by said toddler being on my plane), when suddenly, something went horribly wrong.

The happy go lucky, child-of-the-year candidate suddenly did the full head turn we saw in the Exorcist and began to scream, moan, whine, whimper, and call for the resignation of all the Senators of California for a full 45 minutes. My admiration of the aforementioned child had also done a 180, as I was thinking of ways to silence him myself, like, say, a dart gun. (But, needless to say, the TSA took mine at security!) Instead, I put in my ear buds, and tried to make myself deaf for the duration of the flight.

But it did get me thinking. What in the world happened? How did it switch so fast?  Did someone reveal to the child that Santa, in fact, did not exist? Did he suddenly realize he was thousands of feet in the air? Was he preparing for a town hall meeting with aforementioned Senators?

Nope.

I don’t know for sure, but I am pretty certain it was something totally insignificant that happened. Perhaps his toy got taken. Perhaps the snack cart rolled by, and he was told, “no.” Maybe someone looked at him funny. Maybe someone took his blanket. How childish, to respond to those things with such a temper tantrum.

And yet, don’t we do the same thing in our own lives? One minute, happy go-lucky because things are going our way, and then, a circumstance changes, and we throw our own tantrum, and like James 4 says, we could even carry it fully to the point of murder. It’s so ridiculous, and yet, so like us.

Why am I throwing a tantrum today?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 7:17 am

    What?!!?!?! Santa isn’t real? Shoot.

Leave a Reply

