Skip to content

September 15, 2009

Sunday, we were challenged to focus on Christ. The challenge came to forsake the idols we have come to love, and to wholeheartedly embrace Christ, and Christ alone.

“Being dedicated to a lifestyle is a worthless pursuit.”

This was my take on a quote from Sunday morning that really kept coming back on me.  For as much as I want to pursue Christ, as much as I am looking to bash stuff we cling to that isn’t of Christ, for as much as I am ready and willing to sacrifice it all for Him, I still fall into the trap of being more dedicated to the pursuit of those things than I am to the actual pursuit of Christ.

Don’t get me wrong, I believe that in my pursuit of Christ I will find that I will pursue those things as well, but it needs to be in the right order. I must put Him above all else… above me. The greatest encouragement from Sunday? The fact that no matter how much I pursue Him, because He is eternal, able, perfect and unique, the pursuit will never grow old.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

