Skip to content

Take 2 – Employment

September 20, 2009

As I reviewed some old posts of mine from a few years ago, a couple stood out to me as just as true today as they ever were. I’ll re-post them, perhaps to remind myself more than anything else.

This post is incredibly timely for me right now.

from March 13, 2007

So, it’s time to work again. I have piles of paper covering my desk, my coffee pot is crying out to me to start it up, my emails are screaming for attention, and the little red light on my phone is reminding me of the perhaps dozens of people I need to call back today. I haven’t looked at my calendar to see what has been added since I left yesterday, there are people walking by my office, almost like vultures, looking ready to dive in at any time. I don’t want to be here today.

I’d much rather be sleeping, lounging, golfing, hunting… I would actually even rather just be reading for the sake of reading, instead of digging out of the minutia. However, this morning, God slapped me around a bit with His Word. Great…that’s what I needed, right? He used Psalm 84.10 to make me stop and think about what I am doing…

I would rather be a gatekeeper in the house of my God than live the good life in the homes of the wicked.

– Psalm 84.10

The thing that jumped at me wasn’t that I “serve in the house of my God,” although I could argue I do. It was the Psalmist attitude of complete gratefulness for being used at all. The privilege, the blessing, the honor of being able to be anywhere near Him, that my service to Him wouldn’t make him sick, that it would somehow be accepted…. I should be unemployed.

To the piles I go, after the coffee is done…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

