Skip to content

A role model

February 4, 2010

Last week, a football player retired. Usually, no big deal. Certainly nothing to get excited over. However, this football player is somewhat well known, and mostly for his being a follower of Christ. It is Kurt Warner.

I saw a great article on him, written by Seth Wickersham from ESPN. The quote of the article, the one that stood out all by itself, that blew me away was this one.

Thanks for the religion. Some athletes give their life to Jesus Christ as a PR move; some are ripe with hypocrisy; some just say offensive things. Warner always expressed his faith without trivializing it or us.

Can’t the same be said for businessmen, construction workers, school teachers, stay at home moms, that their “religion” is a PR move, filled with hypocrisy and offensive words? It’s not just athletes.

And it’s certainly not just reporters that need to see a real faith being lived out, versus a religion being used to beat people up with.

As I read Wickersham’s words, I am blown away. I want that to be the testimony of non-Christians as they look at my life, my words, my actions. I want to make much of Christ, but I also want others to view my life, and not be able to deny His presence in my life.

Read the full article here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ronda Bickle permalink
    February 4, 2010 1:49 pm

    “As I read Wickersham’s words, I am blown away. I want that to be the testimony of non-Christians as they look at my life, my words, my actions. I want to make much of Christ, but I also want others to view my life, and not be able to deny His presence in my life.”

    Frank
    I couldn’t have said this any better myself. It is our words and actions that show the selfless person that Christ is. But it is also the words we dont say that people notice how deep our love for Christ goes.

  2. Ronda Bickle permalink
    February 4, 2010 2:00 pm

    Frank
    I am not a football fan. I only watch the eagles and steelers to stay connected with my sister Kim and her husband. So with that said who is this guy and what team is he on and what position does he play.

Leave a Reply

