Skip to content

Don’t be a moron

February 2, 2010

And this is where the words “Baptist” and “Moron” get connected. http://ow.ly/12Fwb What do you mean you didn’t know they needed paperwork?!

So, that simple Twitter update, repeated on my Facebook page, has gotten a couple of my friends “uncomfortable.” I wanted to take a minute to clarify what I mean, and explain why I sounded so harsh in what I said.

First, you have to really know who I am. I use the words moron, idiot, dork and fool often. Perhaps that is a character issue, revealing that I am judgmental and arrogant. Or, perhaps there are a lot of morons, idiots, dorks and fools around.

As I uncover what this group of Baptists did in Haiti, I would like to clarify my statement. Yes, they sacrificed much! That is very admirable. Yes, they ventured into a disaster area to offer relief – again, admirable. I love the concept, the fact that when everyone else was talking, they were acting.

That being said, there are 2 major flaws that the entire world now gets to see.

Being enthusiastic, excited, motivated never takes the place of being prepared.

For example, we’ve all seen videos of kids trying to pour their own juice. (If you haven’t, click here!) They are enthusiastically doing it themselves. But that doesn’t mean they are any good at it, and it certainly doesn’t mean that they won’t leave a mess, no matter how pumped they are to do it themselves. No, they will usually make a huge mess, and someone else is stuck cleaning it up.

I’m glad they went. I’m glad they were passionate. I wish they would have prepared. To undertake a task that big without knowing what you are doing is simply foolish. And now, someone else has to clean up after them.

Following God is never an excuse to do things without being prepared.

They said a number of times in the interviews, “God told us to do this.” Great, but if God told you to go help orphans, then go help orphans. Are they helping orphans now that they are behind bars? NO! Why? Because they weren’t prepared. So now, as they defend their actions as being directed by God, you know what they are doing? Throwing the blame at Him. That is where I begin to lose my patience with them. Don’t blame God for your moronicness. That’s the whole point of Proverbs 19:3.

So, if I offended you for calling a Baptist a moron… I hope you understand a little better now where I was coming from. I’m just tired of God getting all the bad press because His people don’t think.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jay Mertes permalink
    February 2, 2010 11:51 am

    Frank…you are dead on with this one. They may have been naive and well-intending, but they were well-intended and naive MORONS. Come on.

  2. frank permalink*
    February 2, 2010 11:55 am

    Hey Jay! Good to hear from you, bro! I’ll just smile on this one…. 🙂

  3. just another thought permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:48 pm

    There are so many wonderful things we can do with our words yet you take the time to write about Baptist being morons. What a waste of words and time even if in some cases it is true. God asks us to uplift encourage be a witness share his love. Yes Baptist and Christians do things that just don’t end right or say things that just don’t do any good very much like your blog. You have taken the time to try and get your words out into the world.. Why don’t you start getting Christ’s Words out into the world instead.. I know that it would do more for the furthering of the gospel of Christ.

  4. frank permalink*
    February 2, 2010 3:19 pm

    I’m not going to get dragged into a discussion defending myself and what I do with my time and my words, as that wouldn’t help anyone. When I stand before Christ, He will look at what I’ve done with my time and energy and, and I hope and pray and desire that He will greet me with a smile, and a “good job.”

    That being said, one major exception I take with your comment is not what you included, but what you excluded. You see, if you knew me, you would know that I strongly believe that one of the major problems with evangelical Christianity today is the huge number of people standing in the shadows throwing rocks.

    I invite open communication on my blog… would love to have more of it. I love when people get fired up about something. I want people to get angry, it means they are thinking. But if you have the guts to say something, say it! You will be met with open arms. I may disagree with you, but I will respect you, and take time to be challenged by you. In fact, I believe that would be encouraging and an effective witness.

    But what you prove by “hiding in the shadows” is that you don’t even believe what you’re saying, and you are afraid to be challenged on it. And that’s sad. In fact, that’s damaging to the cause of Christ. I learn nothing, you learn nothing, and the world watches as someone who is “hiding in the shadows” throws a rock filled with artificial courage.

    So my friend, and the rest of my friends, please know that I am open to be disagreed with. I disagree with myself sometimes. I love to be challenged. But do it with a name, ok? Then we’ll all be friends, go to Starbucks, and solve the problems of the world together.

  5. just another thought permalink
    February 2, 2010 4:51 pm

    I don’t know you. I’m just saying we can only change ourselves so being critical doesn’t really help.. Using our words to edify and encourage could probably do more for Christians/Baptist then calling them morons.

    These are the verses I use to back up my thoughts.. Not to be preachy to you, but so you know where I am coming from..

    Eph. 4.29, Phil. 1:6, 1 Cor. 14:3..

    I am not anonymous to the outside world about my Christianity and that is really all that matters..

  6. frank permalink*
    February 2, 2010 6:50 pm

    Don’t lose sight of the fact that another key verse to consider is 1 Thes. 5:14. And, by all means, don’t miss the fact that we are to admonish (which is not a lovey dovey term) the idle, or literally the disorderly, undisciplined, unruly or loafers. Sure, there is more to that verse, but there is also more to the Bible than Eph 4.29, Phil 1.6, and 1 Cor 14.3.

  7. Ronda Bickle permalink
    February 2, 2010 7:17 pm

    Frank

    Moron means foolish. I do know you personally and knew what you meant. The holy spirit guides us in making wise and dicerning choices. These people were foolish in their actions. They went into another country blind and thinking they could save those children when they had no rights in that country. Unfortunately they are now reaping the consequences of their foolishness. Those that dont know us should not be so judgemental but instead ask you in a kind, christ-like way in what you meant by the use of your words. Finally, those people were MORON’s because they were foolish people that should have been prepared going into Haiti to help. Frank, you defended yourself in a godly way.

  8. just another thought permalink
    February 3, 2010 7:40 am

    I know that there is more. I didn’t want to overwhelm you with verses that I have studied or found on the topic.. and I absolutely agree that we are to admonish.. in love.. Isn’t that what I am doing right now.. Sharing scripture and not calling you names.. Although it has crossed my mind.

  9. February 3, 2010 11:44 am

    Great post, Frank. I’ve seen a lot of “Christian” lunacy over the years performed in the name of God and carried out with good intentions…and it just doesn’t cut it. Stupidity is stupidity. And if no one points out the lunacy, then it continues unabated. Let the mistakes of the foolish in Haiti be a lesson to us all.

  10. frank permalink*
    February 3, 2010 12:58 pm

    Hi Rhonda… thank you for the kind words…

  11. frank permalink*
    February 3, 2010 12:59 pm

    hey just another thought…. Thanks for underwhelming me 🙂 No, seriously… be faithful, my new friend…. press on…. and be bold!

  12. frank permalink*
    February 3, 2010 1:01 pm

    I hope that others would do the same for me… oh wait, yeah, they point it out over and over again. 🙂 Thanks Dan….

Leave a comment